People Synthetic Biomanufacturing Institute

The institute's rich intellectual community is founded on our faculty, staff, and students. Feel free to check out our faculty members' profiles and what expertise they have brought with them.


Meet the Directors



Meet the Faculty & Staff






Faculty & Staff Contact Information

Name Type Center E-Mail Phone
H. Scott Hinton SBI Interim Director SBI hinton@engineering.usu.edu (435)797-2776
Dr. Randy Lewis SBC Director SBC randy.lewis@usu.edu (435)797-9291
Dr. Ron Sims SWBEC Director SWBEC ron.sims@usu.edu (435)797-3156
Dr. Foster Agblevor BEC Director BEC foster.agblevor@usu.edu (435)797-9268
Reese Thompson BPL Director BPL reese.thompson@usu.edu (435)797-4481
Christian Iverson Director, Business Development SBI christian.iverson@usu.edu (435)797-9620
Dr. Jon Takemoto Professor, Biology SBC jon@biology.usu.edu (435)797-0671
Dr. Dong Chen Research Associate Professor SBC dong.chen@usu.edu (435)797-3887
Dr. Lance Seefeldt Professor, Biochemistry BEC lance.seefeldt@usu.edu (435)797-3964
Dr. Charles Miller Assistant Professor SBC charles.miller@usu.edu (435)797-2593
Dr. Bruce Bugbee Professor, Plant Sciences BEC bruce.bugbee@usu.edu (435)797-2765
Dr. Cheng-Wei Tom Chang Professor, Chemistry SBC tom.chang@usu.edu (435)797-3545
Dr. Byard Wood Professor, Mechanical Engineering BEC byard.wood@usu.edu (435)797-2868
Alok Shenoy Research Technician BEC alok.shenoy@aggiemail.usu.edu (435)797-9268
Dr. Jason Quinn Assistant Professor SBC jason.quinn@usu.edu (435)797-0341
Dr. Jixun Zhan Assistant Professor SBC jixun.zhan@usu.edu (435)797-8774
Dr. Nicholas Flann Professor, Computer Science SBC nick.flann@gmail.com (435)797-2432
Ashik Sathish Research Technician BPL ashik.sathish@usu.edu (435)797-2576
Dr. Daniel Hyduke SBC Faculty SBC hyduke@usu.edu (435)797-0766
Wenfeng (Vallen) Guo Visiting Scholar SBC wenfeng.guo@gmail.com
Michael Hinman Senior Research Scientist SBC michael.hinman@usu.edu
Lijin Xia Researcher III SBC lijin.xia@aggiemail.usu.edu
Sreevidhya Krishnaji Postdoctoral Fellow SBC sreevidhya.krishnaji@usu.edu
Paula Oliveira Postdoctoral Fellow SBC paula.oliveira@usu.edu
Dr. Oleksandr Hietsoi Postdoctoral Fellow SBC sasa_ghetoi@yahoo.com
Bingji Ma Postdoctoral Fellow BEC mbj123@sina.com
Seng Soo Kim Visiting Scholar SBC sskim2008@kangwon.ac.kr
Dr. Elizabeth Vargis SBC Associate Professor SBC vargis@usu.edu (435)-797-9268

Student Information

Name Type Center Associated Faculty Project
Sarah Allred Graduate Student SBC H. Scott Hinton Modeling
Sanjib Shrestha Graduate Student SBC Jon Takemoto Antimicrobials
Yukie Kawasaki Graduate Student SBC Jon Takemoto Antimicrobials, Biliverdin
Susie Frisby Graduate Student SBC Jon Takemoto Antimicrobials
Garrett Hinton Undergraduate Student SBC Dong Chen Biliverdin
Gilbert Nelson Undergraduate Student SBC
Charles Harding Undergraduate Student SBC
Christine Dhiman Undergraduate Student SBC
Thomas Anderson Undergraduate Student SBC
Richard Decker Graduate Student SBC Randy Lewis Synthetic Silk
Justin Jones Graduate Student SBC Randy Lewis Synthetic Silk
Cameron Copeland Graduate Student SBC Randy Lewis Synthetic Silk
Chauncey Tucker Graduate Student SBC Randy Lewis Synthetic Silk
Michaela Hugie Graduate Student SBC H. Scott Hinton Modeling
Xioali Zhang Graduate Student SBC Randy Lewis Synthetic Silk
Cole Peterson Graduate Student SBC Randy Lewis Synthetic Silk
Mathew Kurian Graduate Student SBC Randy Lewis Synthetic Silk
Harsh Dosi Graduate Student SBC Nicholas Flann Modeling
Sumit Singh Graduate Student SBC Nicholas Flann Modeling
Vipul Oswal Graduate Student SBC Nicholas Flann Modeling
Jonathan Wood Graduate Student SWBEC Ron Sims Phycocyanin
Terence Smith Graduate Student SWBEC H. Scott Hinton RABR Technology
Renil Anthony Graduate Student SWBEC Ron Sims Algae Processing
Maureen Kesaano Graduate Student SWBEC Ron Sims RABR Technology
Yousef Soboh Graduate Student SWBEC Ron Sims Algae Processing
Bhuvan Yathavan Graduate Student BEC Bruce Bugby
Bo Zhao Graduate Student BEC Bruce Bugby
Guevara Che Nyendu Graduate Student BEC Bruce Bugby
Hamza Abdellaoui Graduate Student BEC Foster Agblevor
Oumou Diallo Graduate Student BEC Foster Agblevor
Ben Shurtz Graduate Student BEC Foster Agblevor
Ville Paasikallio Exchange Graduate Student BEC Foster Agblevor
Jake Nelson Graduate Student BEC Foster Agblevor
Katerine Napan Graduate Student BEC Foster Agblevor
Alex McCurdy Graduate Student BEC Lance Seefeldt
Mike Morgan Undergraduate Student BEC Lance Seefeldt
Breitner Marczewski Exhange Undergraduate Student BEC Lance Seefeldt
Justin Hunt Undergraduate Student BEC Lance Seefeldt
Curtis Adams Graduate Student BEC Lance Seefeldt